Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

30 Denier for tarp?

So I am a noob here and to hammocks but I am trying. I want to make my own tarp and found the MARPAT pattern (http://store.magnafabrics.com/Marpat...25_a_yard.html) that I want to make a tarp out of. I also want to try my hand at making my own SilNylon as Jeff Spate showed in his YouTube video "The Cheap *******'s Guide to DIY Silnylon" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UTZP...ist=WL&index=3. My question is two part. First, is this a good way to make your own Silnylon and second, is a 30 Denier ripstop nylon good enough for a tarp? Thanks guys.

Oops, sorry admins about the foul verbage. It was simply the name of the video.

Hammock
    11' Poly Ripstop
    Tarp
    DIY Sil Cat Hex
    Insulation
    Phoenix and Synth
    Suspension
    Hammock Anchors
    I've never made my own silnylon, but from other people's opinions that I've read, it's not worth doing for most people. You aren't guaranteed even coverage and if you mess up you may be out a lot more money than getting silnylon from the start. Ripstopbytheroll.com has really great prices on their sil.

30d seems to be pretty standard with silnylon so that should be fine to use as a tarp.

Good luck and have fun with whatever you decide to do.

Hammock
    DIY 12' PolyD
    Tarp
    DIY 12x10 silArgon
    Insulation
    HG 0º UQ / 20º TQ
    Suspension
    Dutch Speed Hooks
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by joeshmo View Post