Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tarp help

Hammock
    DH TB (in making)
    Insulation
    UGQ

Tarp help

Hey guys I'm a noob. Just wanted some suggestions from the community before purchasing a tarp.

To give you an idea of what its for, I'm hiking the AT this year. Attempting to through hike. hammock is being made. It's 11ft and wanted to know what size tarp I should get for it. Should I get a 12 foot ridgeline or is that too big? Do I need one with doors? Do I want a diamond cut or hex cut? I have no idea.. I'm not new to hiking but i am new to hanging. Don't really know what I need. Spending money on a good tarp isn't an issue, but i'd prefer to have it be one and done. I don't need to upgrade later, or start a collection at this present time.

Thanks guys!

Hammock
    WBRR, Dutch
    Tarp
    WB Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Assorted JRB, DIY
    Suspension
    Whooooopie!
    I have a hex tarp and it works great for my occasional camping habits. However, if you're do a considerable amount of hiking, you may want something with doors. Hammock Gear's Cuben Fiber tarp gets lots of great reviews.

Banned
    Hammock
    DIY 12' Channel end
    Tarp
    HH Hex w/doors
    Insulation
    Underwoobie T/UQ
    Suspension
    RacerLoops w/Cinch
    Images
    An 11'-0 hammock with a properly installed ridgeline should be +/- 110" (9'-10"). My personal preference is for the tarp to cover at least 6" past each end, so an 11'-0 tarp would work for me.

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    Edge
    Insulation
    looking
    Suspension
    Amsteel/speedhook
    This thread has a good pictorial depiction of the different kind of tarps and how they lay.

Hammock
    UW Multicam
    Tarp
    SF or Stars
    Suspension
    UCR's
    If weight is not an issue then I would highly recommend the Warbonnet Superfly. If your counting every ounce then go with cuben.

Hammock
    DIY 10.5' HyperD 1.6
    Tarp
    Warbonnet, SLD
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension