Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What's the warmest of the cheap?

I'm new to hammocking and a little worried about freezing on the JMT if I decide to take my hammock instead of tent. I'm a wimp in the cold and it can get down to below freezing in the sierras. I currently have a 20 degree down kelty bag and eno profly rain tarp that I'm definitely taking. Then, I already have both a 1" thermarest trail scout or one of those blue foam pads that I could also take, they weigh the same so which would be warmer? I was also looking at the thermarest prolite which is also 1" but only weighs half as much, or the thermarest neoair, which is 2" (which would be comfier in case of ground sleeping) and I thought would be warmer since it's twice as thick, but the R-value is actually lower? Then I also saw this thing, no idea they're any good? http://hennessyhammock.com/catalog/p...le_bubble_pad/

Also, will I even be warm enough with just a pad and sleeping bag in a storm or do I need something to keep the warm air in better? Like one of those socks or top covers that goes around the hammock to lock in the warm air and seal out wind? Or would a bivvy bag or sleeping bag liner help? Or an emergency blanket? Also, is it warmer to sleep with the pad inside or outside your sleeping bag? Mine would fit either way. Tons of questions sorry, thanks guys

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images