Hammock
    Warbonett Blackbird 1.7
    Tarp
    Mamajamba
    Insulation
    HG Underquilt 30
    Suspension
    Webbing & Buckles

Burrow 40 or 50 in Summer in New England?

So I'm looking into getting a Hammock Gear quilt for the summer. I have a 20 degree for the early spring and late fall weather. I'm looking into a 50 degree for summer to save on weight and a bit of money. I mostly hike in upstate New York, NH and VT all summer. Any suggestions on which temp rate I should go with? 50 or 40 degree? Has anyone had any experience with a 50 degree quilt in New England/upstate New York in the summer? I'm wondering if it might not be warm enough, or just right for those June, July, August nights in the mountains.

thanks!!

Anthony
    Last edited by AnthonyL; 05-19-2015 at 11:16.

Hammock
    DIY 10.5' HyperD 1.6
    Tarp
    Warbonnet, SLD
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    WB Straps+Buckles
    Images
    I'm not familiar with the weather there, but I just got back from a 3-night trip in northern MI. I had my 40° +1oz and it was too darn warm to sleep the last night. It was 56° when I went to bed with a forcast low of 52°. I had to sleep without any cover and just boxers/t-shirt for a couple hours then add the quilt later after I got cool.

Their ratings are spot on for me. I would look back at the typical lows and go from there.

Hammock
    Warbonnet
    Tarp
    HG/BWWD/Z-Packs
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Woopies & Straps
    Images