Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Clark Hammock set-up for the AT

Okay let me start by apologizing for potentially repeating previously asked questions but I am reviewing these forms by a mobile device and the app is not super user friendly when it comes to searching through prior threads.

I am a South Florida resident and have been camping a Clark tropical jungle hammock for quite a few years. I am currently in the early planning stages of doing an Appalachian Trail thru hike. I am planning on using a Clark nx - 170 hammock for this trip but I am curious as to the under quilt and the top quilt system. I have seen many people say the top quilt is less important then the under quilt and am curious if I can simply take a down 0 sleeping bag and an under quilt. Clark makes an under quilt for their hammocks would anybody recommend using that quilt or favor something better.

Hammock
    TX-150, Roo, HB SBBF
    Tarp
    Vertex, ShangriLa
    Insulation
    Z-liner, WL SS UQ
    Suspension
    Straps, D. buckle
    The Clark underquilt is nice because it is attached via velcro all around the hammock, but it is bulky (currently made from Climashield Apex). I would say it is good down to maybe 35* with a windcover (i got mine from 2qzq) which is definitely a smart extremely lightweight investment. When are you planning to start your hike and from which end?
    Discretion is the better of valor

At the moment im looking at an early March start from the south

Quote Originally Posted by Penfold View Post
    I would say it is good down to maybe 35* with a windcover (i got mine from 2qzq) which is definitely a smart extremely lightweight investment.
    Excuse the amateur question but what is a wind cover would that be something different from the WeatherShield the winter Clark hammocks come with?

Hammock
    DREAM HAMMOCK
    Tarp
    U G Q .
    Insulation
    U G Q .
    Suspension
    RSBTR STRAPS
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by mPalozzola View Post