Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Weight restrictions

Hello from the Rock.
    When I say the Rock , that means Newfoundland Canada.
    The most easterly piece of land in North America.
    I am very new to this type of a sleeping system, but am very interested in how it can fit my needs.
    We have a very harse climate that can run you through all the seasons in a single day.
    Our winters can go down to -45 c . I don't recommend sleeping outside then but you get the idea of the extremes we have to live with.
    Snowmobiling is super popular here and I am looking for a system that is light and easly set up if one gets stuck out in the country.
    I also like the idea for hunting and fishing, allowing a person to travel far and fast.
    My biggest question is , is there a weight restriction, I weigh about 340, 6 ft tall.
    I am very active believe it or not.
    Ilike the looks of the bridged systems.
    I look forward to any ideas or thoughts anyone might have on my querry.

Take care , regards
    Rockminder
    Last edited by rockminder; 10-16-2009 at 10:55. Reason: spell check

Hammock
    In a SkeeterBeaterPro...for now
    Welcome to the forums rockminder!

I'm fairly new myself, but weight restrictions shouldn't be too big an issue. I weigh around 350# and am 6', and I haven't had any problems finding gear to hold my weight. I can't speak on the bridge hammocks, but many of the gathered end hammocks are rated for 400# or more. A few that come to mind: Grand Trunk, ENO, TrekLight, Warbonnet Blackbird double 1.7. I'm sure there are more that I'm leaving out. I think you'll find that the size of your wallet will be a far greater limiter on gear selection than what you weigh, that at least has been my experience.
    A free canoe is better than no canoe.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 dbl.
    Tarp
    WBSuperfly w/doors
    Insulation
    JRB TQ & UQ quilts
    Suspension
    Web