SLD Trail Lair & WB Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    HG 12ft. Sil Poly
    Insulation
    SLD Trail Winder
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings

Georgia Hanging Suggestions

SO, I am new to this hanging thing. I have been an indoor hanger for a few months now and it is time to venture outside. Got the tree straps, tarp, bugnet, zing-it etc. (plus camping stuff from my tenting days) so I think I am ready for my first outdoor adventure. Georgia folks....where do I go? I am willing to do a mile or two backpack hike to the site, if necessary. Minimal elevation gain, please. I am retired so it does not have to be on a weekend. Thought about FDR State Park, but not sure. This is not only a first time outdoor thing but just as important, a gear check thing. All suggestions welcome. Thanks
    ~ Rerun

In 100 years it won't make any difference...

Hammock
    ENO single
    Tarp
    Eno ProFly
    Insulation
    HG Phoenix and War
    Suspension
    Atlas straps
    Lake Lanier has some great sites right on the lake with good fishing to boot! I've had some great nights there!

I married A Georgia boy. And thus have spent a good amount of time in the Georgia woods. But that is the only place I know of fitting your description. Down in South Georgia there are some camp grounds along a river but I can't remember which one.

Hammock
    WBRR
    Tarp
    diy sil argon camo
    Insulation
    lynx
    Suspension
    whoopie slings
    Fdr state park, (the Pine mountain trail is great for hanging!) Providence canyon (the back country trail), Any where in the Cohuttas, along the AT, Across the border in Alabama, the Pinhoti trail is an awesome place to hang! Those are my favorite places to hang! (You have lots of options!)
    FYI: If you want to know what type a certain bear is, sneak up behind it and kick it. Then,
    run like crazy and climb up a tree. If the bear climbs the tree and eats you, it's a black