Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    WB Ridgerunner
    Tarp
    WB Superfly

BMBH initial impressions

Here are my initial impressions of the JRB BMBH...

(Want to skip all my drivel and just see the pictures? They're at the bottom.)

Preface:
    I have ZERO background knowledge on bridge hammocks other than pictures I've seen, videos on this site, and descriptions via threads. I've had my share of hammocks over the past couple of years - Clark North American, Trek Light Double, ENO Singlenest/Doublenest, Warbonnet Blackbird, Hennessy Expedition, Grand Trunk Skeeter Beater Pro, and finally to my new Jacks R Better Bear Mountain Bridge Hammock.

For insulation I've used sleeping bags, Thermarest Ridgerest, Speer SnugFit, KAQ Potomac, and now my new Exped DownMat 9 DLX.

Unpacking and testing:
    The entire JRB BMBH setup comes in a nifty sil-nylon bag. Everything you need to know about setup is included with a getting started guide attached to the drawstring. New user? Read that guide! Takes about 2 minutes to grasp the concept. Easy as pie. Normally guys don't take time to read instructions. I did, but I was already a bit familiar with the spreader bars (how to and how NOT to use them!) as well as being familiar with the tri-glides...so preparing the BMBH for my first hang was a breeze!

After pulling the goodies out of the bag, getting the suspension lines straight and pre-installing the tri-glides, I kicked everyone out of my way and took the hammock out to the backyard. Got dirty looks from my wife and dogs. Guess they didn't appreciate me frantically pushing them out of the way so that I could play with my new toy...um..er...I mean, so that I could test the new man-equipment. Yeah, that's it....