Tarp
    UQG WinterDream 12
    Insulation
    SLD Full Synth
    Suspension
    Beetles 11' Dynema

Nube Shelter - 1st double hang

Hi all -

I'm new here to the forum and to hammock camping.

Just picked it up this summer after taking my kids out and a friend let me borrow his ENO DN.
    I had planned on sleeping in our large family tent, but it was a warm night, and ended up sleeping in the hammock.

Enjoyed it so much that I thought I'd found a way simpler solution to tents, bags, pads, posts, etc.
    Went again with just the ENO to a local trout stream so that I could start early. Got into the 50's and discovered CBS.

Looked at some of the ENO supplied systems but wanted something else. Found the Nube on Kickstarter and thought it looked like an ideal solution to hammock camping.

Keeping in mind, I am the perfect audience for this product. I am new to hammock camping. I favor simplicity over tweaking. I don't mind spending a bit more upfront, for a turn key solution that works for me as I am not the best DIY (as my UQ will attest).

Tried the Nube out myself a few weeks ago just to get familiar with it. No problems - set up quickly and provided good enclosure while not being too close / plenty of room. We had a long weekend and great weather in New England this weekend so I took my son down to a camping site next to the Connecticut River to try out the 'bunk' style hanging in the Nube.

IMG_2037.JPG

SMr (makers of Nube) - offer a shorter hammock called and Xplorer to hang above the main hammock. I would not suggest it be used by a large adult male, but for kids or lighter women, it should be fine. I kept my son's hammock pretty tight but he didn't mind. Kept it about 20" away from me, which was enough to not feel too intrusive.

It got down to about 40* at around 2AM. My son was warm in a 20* synth bag just laying in his sling. I think that the person above will be warmer since they are not exposed to as much convection and they have a warm body below.