Tarp
    RSBTR Winter Hex12
    Insulation
    DIY Wookie style
    Suspension
    Tensa4, Trekking
    Images

Physics help - cantelievers

I'm trying to calculate some forces and am stuck. I have checked the hang calculators and gotten some of what I need. Below is a diagram simplified the best I can. Large rectangle in a wall, with the smaller rectangle a pole. For calculations figure the wall and pole do not move or bend.

Capital letter are forces, lower case are angles. If S, a, b, and c are known what are the formulas for C and T?

Canteliver forces.jpg

I would like to make a forces calculator to share for hanging a hammock off a guyed pole.
    Come check out the Tensa4 tensahedron stand and other hammock stands at http://www.TensaOutdoor.com and [email protected]

Hammock
    DIY gathered end
    Tarp
    HG Cuben w/ doors
    Suspension
    DIY UL UCR
    Hi Raftingtigger,
    I'll bite! (I am an aerospace engineer and love Newtonian Physics!)

First, however, I'd like to ask/clarify something about your picture:

1. Will the vertical member (large rectangle, i.e. wall) always be perfectly vertical and perpendicular to the ground?
    2. Will the guy pole always be perpendicular to the large member/wall?
    3. Is angle "c" to account for the hang angle? (hangle)
    4. Will the hammock be set up so that the axial direction is in/out of the page in your drawing? (i.e. will it be setup along/parallel the wall in the picture or bridging across to another wall, out of frame but on the right of your picture? If the former, then you need an additional guy line to keep the two guyed poles from folding in on each other.)
    4. You know how to calculate the tension S given a hangers weight and the hang angle. (Hint: it's not 1/2 the hangers weight!)

I'll post a solution now assuming that:

1. The answer to 1 is "yes" the wall/large vertical member is always perfectly vericle, and