Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Questions About Making a Continuous Loop

I'm a newbie to hammock camping and I've now made several "practice" continuous loops. All made the same way except the very last one. For the first three I've used the method as demonstrated by numerous folks, including Opie. And my questions come to the point of right before you perform the bury;

1. Since your bury is going down the center of the Amsteel, why initially pull it through when you're just going to grab it with a splicing tool and pull it back through?
    2. For that matter, why insert the splicing tool with equal strands on both sides? In the end you're going in but not coming out, so it would seem that this doesn't matter?

My last continuous loop was made the following way; seems like it's the same result but wanted to run it by you "pros" out there for feedback.

Assuming you measure everything correctly;
    1. Taper the ends.
    2. Insert splicing tool at appropriate distance, going towards the end and running down the center of the Amsteel.
    3. Exit at the proper point, and pull the end back through with your splicing tool.
    4. Repeat for other end.

Where am I going wrong?

Hammock
    Argon 11 ft or HH BKUL
    Tarp
    Asym DIY Pole Mod
    Insulation
    DIY, Jarbrige,HHSS
    Suspension
    Lashings
    Images
    I think you are asking about the 'lock'. Just using a burry would rely on the constriction alone to maintain the loop - the lock prevents the constriction from slipping.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xcoKeXAwBZY
    Enjoying the simple things in life -
    Own less, live more.