Hennessy Explorer asym zip
    Tarp
    Hennessy Hex Fly
    Insulation
    Super Shelter
    Suspension
    Stock

Questions about UQ for a HH Explorer DX

Hi I'm not sure if this should go to AHE or HH or Bottom insulation section so...

I have a HH Explorer deluxe, I've been using the HHSS for a couple years now and works well for me down to about 20 - 25F depending on conditions and I use the patrol bag alone or and the bivy from my mss. If I expect it to be colder I bring the full mss and a thermarest pad, that weight never bothered me until...

My daughter recently got the snugpak set and loves it. I don't think that works for me as it covers the same area as the HHSS at more weight but with less fuss. Weight and pack space really got me thinking, so now I'm rethinking my setup. I'm thinking of a potomac or a jarbridge. Potomac because its made for the HH and the jarbridge because in cold weather i'm already using a pad so that's not a change really right?

How much does the 4S versions of those two weigh? is there a significant advantage to either? am I being over simplified about the jarbridge working the same as me being in the mss with the pad? how warm can I use it before its two warm if its a 4S?

Also if I get a bonus this year I'd like to get the DH Sparrow so I'd like whatever I get to work with both and I could swear I saw someone say the Potomac worked on it because of the asym design.

If you're going to get a Sparrow, you might want to go for the options from DH and UGQ to have a great fit. That would be UQ hooks on the hammock and the mod on the UGQ UQ to use the hooks to the greatest advantage.

There's no doubt the UGQ UQ would still work fine with other gathered-end hammocks. Get a warm enough UQ and leave the pad at home except for extreme cold.

Hammock
    Tarp
    Hennessy Hex Fly
    Insulation
    Super Shelter
    Suspension
    Stock
    Quote Originally Posted by TominMN View Post