Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hey Y'all

lostinthewoodz

Hey Y'all

Howdy! I have always considered myself an outdoor guy. Even if its just in my head. I hunt and fish and process my own game. I am on my way to being a "prepper". I haven't really stockpiled food or anything else. That's just a little bit about my personality.
    As far as hangin in a hammock I am an amateur. I used to sleep in a hammock outside at my grannies house growin up on the weekends and I have used a hammock here and there camping. When I camp I like to be away from all the yuppies. I am not one for camp grounds where you have someone in an RV or a tent 100ft from you on both sides (and sometimes surrounding you). So I backpack. Historically I have either used just a tarp or a tent. Tarps I have used have usually been bought at wally world and weigh a ton, and tents I have carried have always been dome tents. I used to be in the military and have carried a rucksack before. Nothing in the military is lightweight so I never really concerned myself with packs weighing in excess of 75lbs. Well now I am looking to lighten my load and liberate myself from the ground. All the specialized gear out there is crazy. And trying to decide what to get is a chore.