Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help new guy with one tree setup - what to use for guylines

I'm new to hammocking and I'm working on a one tree set up like this: https://www.hammockforums.net/forum/...light=one+tree or using one half of this: https://www.hammockforums.net/forum/...light=portable
    The following photo is borrowed from the second link. As indicated, I plan to use only one half of this and a tree on the other end.
    I've got an adjustable aluminum military tent pole to use as the post opposite the tree. I plan to make stake booms to stabilize the stakes. So, my question is, what should I use for guyline. Zing-it, lash-it and Amsteel. Frankly, I'm not sure what the difference is in the three. Finally, I would like to use dogbones or guy line adjusters for the guy lines, but I'm not sure that any of those lines are thick enough to use adjusters.
    Thanks for the help! I'm learning a lot lurking around here.

Hammock
    Wbbb xlcj
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    H.G top and under
    Suspension
    Dutch cinch bugs
    You could maybe use the small figure 9's by nite Ize they will work with larger guy lines and they are pretty strong. The weakest link is usually stakes pulling out ,soil is never consistent I hope you have some good stakes.
    visualize whirled peas.

Thanks. I have good stakes and the stake booms should eliminate the pull out.

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    I'm going to do the one tree thing but I'm burring a sleeve made from the vinyl made to go around deck posts. This will allow me to remove the post when I'm not using it.

Hammock
    Wbbb xlcj
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    H.G top and under
    Suspension
    Dutch cinch bugs