Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

in-tent hammock?

I just joined this forum, so hi! I'm a newb at camping and hammocks. We've been camping several times and one of the things I hate is sleeping on the mats in the tent. While I've never slept in a hammock, they sure feel comfortable while I'm resting in one and I'm guessing sleeping in one would be better, for me at least, than sleeping on those mats. We did have collapsible cots at one point, I can't remember why we're not using those anymore. At any rate, I was wondering whether there exists a portable, which I'll equate to light weight and collapsible, hammock which could be used inside a tent? I've read a few of the threads and did some initial searching but nothing jumped out as addressing this. Not sure if it's a dumb idea or not.

Thanks,
    Nick

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    Any time you try to combine functions you end up with a compromise that inevitably weighs more and probably does neither thing well. There are hammock stands, but none that I know of designed to be used in a tent. If weight were no object, one could probably fashion something that wouldn't tear up the tent floor. It would probably eat up a lot of the tent interior.

One could try to use a tent as it's meant, and a hammock to hang inside it, but that would involve making passthroughs on the tent for the hammock suspension. Of course, the hammock would need to be situated between trees, and so would the tent, so you'd have to place the tent in a manner conducive to hammocks, rather than in a place conducive to tents (rocks, roots, etc.).

If there is such a hammock/tent combo (and none come to mind), I'm sure it will weigh a ton and cost an arm and a leg.
    "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hammock
    Hexon 1.0/WBRR
    Tarp
    Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Incubator/Lynx
    Suspension