Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    ridgerunner
    Tarp
    superfly
    Suspension
    buckles

Requesting help with backpacking cord for ridgeline and guyline using only knots

Fellow hammockers,

I'm new to camping/hammocking and am still putting together my gear. I've decided on Warbonnet's Ridgerunner and SuperFly along with Kelty Noah's 12.

I'm hopelessly lost after tirelessly researching lightweight, low-stretch cord options for using knots only.

I would like double layer 1/8in/3mm shock cord on guylines hanging on the tarp with loops on both ends for quick removal ( from Tarp and tie-outs ) . While unattached, total guyline would be ~8in/20cm and shock cord will be 3in/7.5cm (shock cord will be allowed to stretch to ~6in/15cm). The same configuration will be used on both Kelty and SuperFly. GadgetUK437 gave me this idea (https://www.hammockforums.net/forum/....php?p=1657722)

I'm very close to purchasing 200-300 feet of spyderline cord (1.8mm polyester shielding dyneema from westmarine), but tribal knowledge/wisdom seem to lean towards zing-it (1.75mm) for weight reduction.
    ( spyderline: http://www.westmarine.com/buy/new-en...02_071_002_515 )

Since I enjoy cooking yummy food, I hope to carry my 40oz carbon steel pan, so being conscientious of significant weight differences will help my 3+year recovery from injury and get back into shape again.

Hoping to get advice on the following:

1 - How much of a weight difference would 100ft/35m be?
    2 - Which simple knots can be used from tie-outs to the shock cord contraption?
    3 - Which knots can be used for ridgeline duty?
    4 - Will a midshipman's adjustable hitch knot work for both spyderline and zing-it?
    5 - Which cord and knot should be used for tarp to ridgeline?
    6 - Will a 1.8mm ridgeline damage trees? If so, what diameter is recommended?

Thanks!
    Last edited by W8lkinUSA; 08-02-2016 at 15:14.

Hammock
    ridgerunner
    Tarp
    superfly
    Suspension
    buckles