Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

New to using a Hammock and a few questions

I am new to using a Hammock and just pulled the trigger on a Blackbird 1.7 DL (Regular) w/whoppie sling and a superfly tarp.

I have been doing a lot of reading and trying to figure the best way to hang the superfly. Ridgeline or No Ridgeline.

I just ordered everything last week but I am hoping to have it by the end of the month so I can practice setting it up and use on a weekend trip I will be taking in November.

I bought the continuous ridge-line from Dutchware but after reading it may not be the way to go with the superfly. (its only 30ft so I wouldn't mind re-adapting it for another use if it would work better. Any suggestions or thoughts?

I also have a Exped Synmat UL7 MW Pad - would this be able to be used with the blackbird (I was thinking even if I don't fill it with air or extremely little it may be good for extra protection and warmth between the layers.

Hammock
    WB BB DBL 1.1
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    Wooki UQ / Down SB
    Suspension
    WB webbing/buckles
    There's no "best" way to hang it, only the way you like it best. You will need A ridgeline, maybe not a continuous one, but without a ridgeline your tarp will be a sheet of fabric draped on the floor

I hang my mamajamba (same size but no doors) with a continuous ridgeline quite similar to the dutchware CRL and it works perfectly. My best buddy hangs his superfly with 2 ends , one with a dutch hook which clips to a loop and the other with a Dutchware fly., works perfecly too.

The exped will work fine as long as you don't fully inflate it, it has to be slightly malleable to both you and the hammock you stuff it in. I've done the same with my NeoAir multiple times. You will however lose about the thickness of the mat between your face and the bugnet, so the hammock will seem quite a bit smaller, and you'll be less on the diagonal.

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp