Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Hello + Question

Hey, I'm just getting into things after a few backpacking/car camping trips made me realize I just don't like to sleep on the ground. I'm in Central VA so I don't think there's a lack of places to hike and camp around here, plus the trees are plentiful. Hopefully my wife and I will be out camping a bit once the weather gets above 15 at night...

Now, a quick question. I've been hanging in my basement, trying to get my setup right and practice getting in and out of the hammock and sleeping bag. I've had to stop due to a pretty severe feeling of nausea. I'm prone to car sickness, so I'm hoping this isn't going to be an issue with hammocking. Is it possibly related to being indoors, i.e. still air, close stationary objects directly overhead like a light bulb right in my field of view? Hopefully I can get outdoors and try things out some warm day and determine if it effects me there too. I spent practically a week in Costa Rica sitting in a beach hammock with no ill effects, so that's promising.

Thanks...and hello!

Images
    once you get in and situated, reach out and touch the ground to stop your swinging, that might help.

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    What kind of hammock?
    Hammocks that use tie-out don't sway as much. Might be worth looking into if you are still feeling ill once you get outside.

Welcome to the Forum!
    Trust nobody!

Hammock
    N/A
    Tarp
    N/A
    Insulation
    N/A
    Suspension
    N/A
    Images
    Do you ever get vertigo? I never did... then one day I started spinning etc. - was not fun.