Tarp
    Speer 8x10 CatTarp
    Insulation
    JRB Nest
    Suspension
    webbing & cinch
    Images

Basic tarp questions for a tarp newb.

I am fairly new to the hammocking scene, and I have an HH expedition. The only times I have ever used the hammock, I have naturally used the stock HH tarp (which, in rain and wind, didn't hold up too well). So, I just got a Speer 8x10 CatTarp in the mail yesterday. I set it up in the yard today,and quickly realized that attaching the tarp to the hammock ridgeline like the HH tarp does, does not work too well (tension in tarp without person in hammock vs. tension with someone hanging)...

What is the way you people set up your tarps? Do you tie them off to the trees until you get tension right, or do you use adjusters and hitches and all that fancy stuff? And is the goal to have the tarp as taught as possible? Any input would be appreciated.
    "I leave here believing more than I had, this love has got no ceiling" - Eddie Vedder

Hammock
    Skeeter Beeter Pro
    Tarp
    Speer Winter Tarp
    Insulation
    BA Insulated & SPE
    Images
    There are many different ways to hang your tarp. I do my tarp completely independent from my hammock's suspension system. I either tie each end of the ridgeline tie outs to the tree using Figure 9's. Or I use a 25' rope to create a ridgeline running from tree to tree and attach the tie outs of the tarp to that rope using Prusik knots.

The first way puts more stress on your tarp but it's easier to put up and vice versa for the second way.
    "The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits." - Albert Einstein

Hammock
    It's a Secret.
    Tarp
    BWDD Winter Dream
    Insulation
    Crowsnest
    Suspension
    Slings
    Images