So I guess I need to say hello...

So, um, Hello.

I've been lurking here for a while (even after I got my account). Mostly, I'm just learning, because I know nothing.

A little bit about me:
    I've been backpacking for about 20 years (I'm in my 30's), and I average about 1-2 trips per month. My favorite time to camp is late fall, early winter, but I go all year.
    I am NOT an ultra-lighter. Instead I value gear that is 1) easy to setup/pack-up, and 2) small in my pack.

When planning a recent backpacking adventure, it became obvious that our group (15 people) was NOT going to fit in tents anywhere along the trail. So, I researched hammocks. I stumbled across Shug's videos, and after watching a couple (or 20), I decided to give it a try. (His videos are also what pointed me to this place.)

In May, I bought a WBBB XLC, and since that tapped out my camping funds for that month, I cheaped out and bought a Chill Gorilla 12-foot Hex tarp. I absolutely love the WBBB. The tarp needed some dutch bling (CRL) to be viable, but it's starting to grow on me. I've had this setup out on multiple backpacking trips now, and it's pretty good. Just a few days ago, I ordered some Tarp Worms, to make tarp setup less fiddly.

I've tried the whole camping pad in a hammock thing (mid-size square Therm-A-Rest Neo Air 2), and it is completely awful. So, I'm looking at UQ options...I'll probably end up with a Wooki, but I'm not sure which one, yet.

So...I guess that's the long-winded way of saying 'Hello'.

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    Welcome Cypheros to Hammock Forums. Congrats on the new equipment and enjoy getting above ground and sleeping comfortably.

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair/WB XLC
    Tarp
    SLD Trail Haven
    Insulation
    HG, WB and WL
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images