Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Help me decide: Raven vs Darien

First things first: as my post counter suggests I'm a noob in the hammock business. I only own a OneTigris which I consider a super amazing deal for the money I paid for but the hammock itself probably holds the weak spot in all the stuff included in their kit.

So now I need a really good hammock. I've been looking around and I'm pretty much set on the DH. But when it came down to placing the order I kinda stumbled in all the options and I must say in the lack of informations available on the site. Not a rant, with all the customizations possible it's no way to show all the differences but still, things like weight and the real difference in fabrics and comfort is not easy to grasp.

I'll try to make a list of all the questions I'd like to have answered so that one can adress one or more, if not all of them at once:

1- To asym or not to asym? This is like the "big one". I'm kind of a side sleeper, even stomach but I can sleep anyway if the hammock is holding me properly and not making me roll one side to another continually. That being said, I'm not sure which one assures the best flat lay. I'm assuming the Darien, but the possibility of moving around, especially the head/foot orientation rather than the right/left one, is a major pros of the Raven.

2- Weight. I'm definitely into the UL mentality, but not to the point of drilling holes in my toothbrush so to speak. So, is anyone able to tell me which is the weight difference, assuming same configuration (net only) and fabric?