Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    DIY "warbird"
    Tarp
    DIY cat cut silnyl
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings

Going to ground in a hammock

Sorry if this has been covered to death, but a quick search didn't seem to find it...

I'm definitely going to evolve from ground dweller to hanger soon. In those situations where you have to go to ground, e.g. above tree line, only scrub for miles, etc. and there's no tent to share, what is the preferred setup? (Well, I know it's never preferred to go to ground, but youknowhatimean...)

Hammock
    Molly Mac Gear
    Images
    To be prepared, you will have a pad and know how to use your hammock as a bivvy, because you have practiced...

I have no experience at all with going to ground after intending to hang!
    - MacEntyre
    "We must, indeed, all hang together or, most assuredly, we shall all hang separately." - Ben Franklin
    www.MollyMacGear.com

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 dbl + TTTG Switchback
    Tarp
    OES SpinnUL 11x10
    Insulation
    Nest, Hudson River
    Suspension
    Whoopies/Stingerz
    Be Prepared!
    I find that using my tarp in a tent mode works, so a pad of some type would be a good idea in the mix of stuff - just saying.
    Tarps can be set in a variety of positions from A-frame to a flying wedge (one end open). Hiking sticks come in really handy at times like this.

ASM Trp 165
    Rockdawg69

It's a long way to the top if you want to Rock and Roll ----- those hills!!!

Professional Prevaricator: Part-time dealer in Yarns, Tales, Half-Truths, & Outright Lies -1st half-hour session at no cost (Lawyers and Doctors excepted).

Hammock
    Dream Hammock ThunderBird
    Tarp
    Zpack Cuben 7X9
    Insulation
    JRBSierraSniveller
    Suspension
    ring buckle system
    Images