Tarp
    Clark XL, Superfly
    Insulation
    JRB TQ, UQ, LL UQ
    Suspension
    WS,straps,toggles
    Images

Care and feeding of "thread injectors"

I have been building saddles and tack for many years now, and have always used heavy duty stitchers. I just recently inherited my wife's old sewing machine, completely without instruction manual of any kind, and she hasn't used it for so long she has forgotten most everything about it. It is a weird brand which I can't find any reference to on the 'net. The face plate says "Olympia", and the name "Brother" is cast into the base. From the weight, it was made from an anvil and they added lead ballast. At any rate, I have enough stitching experience to be able to work through a lot of the questions, but I put the search on this forum and gleaned a lot of extremely useful information on stitching with light weight machines and fabric. Some of the posts also gave me a real chuckle, as I've been there also. But I just wanted to point out that stitchers have feelings!! Every morning when I go out to the shop, I pet my machines, groom them, tell them what wonderful creatures they are, give them a little fresh oil, dust them off, and pet them again. Each one has a distinct personality that must be catered carefully to and if I do my part, they are happy to hum along giving me my perfect stitches. They do not like harsh words! I prove that all the time!!

Well, now I am starting to sew this gossamer, filmy stuff that may or may not actually exist. I have already started caressing my new little machine, and it is starting to come around. Wish me luck. Oh, and thanks a million for all the help!!!!!

Hammock
    wwbb 1.1
    Tarp
    WB Big Mamajamba
    Insulation
    WB Yeti and Burrow
    Suspension
    wb adj.webbing
    I think they still make Brother Sewing machines. They used to be a very good name brand.

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter