Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    Current: HH explorer

New to winter hanging

Looking for advice;
    I currently have a HH explorer which does well for spring through fall with the gear I have. But I’ve found it’s not enough for winter. I’ve tried my exped down winter in it and found it hard to get a comfortable lay.

I’m thinking about going to a different system for winter as the weather here is variable, I have to deal with a possible 30* plus variance in a 24 hr period and expect temps as low as -30. Now I’ll have these temps without snow coverage so uneven frozen ground makes a tent a hard sell to me.

Any advice from people who have experience with similar conditions?

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images
    I have no experience in those temps but it's typically the same no matter what the temperature gets down to. You need down insulation on top and bottom that is rated to the lowest temps (+10 degrees buffer) that you will be hanging.
    Go to youtube and search for "shug deep winter" and you will see a guy with experience in temps this low and many suggestions on how to deal with these temps.

You may also want to upgrade that hammock while you are at it as a longer hammock is so much more comfortable.

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    Goose bumps
    Suspension
    Bat Feet