Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird 1oz Dual Layer
    Tarp
    Big Mamajamba
    Suspension
    Adjustable Webbing

Newbe to Hanging - Piecing Together a Hammock

I have been backpacking for a couple years now and have always taken a tent. I have wrapped myself up in a tarp before too, like a bivy, but I didn't like that. In a pinch it will work, but not functional especially on the edge of a rock cliff with 20mph winds and sand....

In any event, I would like to add a hammock to my lineup. I have had several people now reccomend the Warbonnet's. What say all?

I know this wouldn't be an ideal set up, but I would like the ability to pitch with trekking poles. I have been in a couple areas where there was nothing to tie a hammock to (much less a bear bag). If I could tie up a ridge line between my trekking poles to support a tarp and bug net that would be sufficient. Comments?

The Warbonnet optional sides/doors to their tarps look like an ideal accessory. That was another of my concerns with the way I have seen most hammock set ups - rain can get in along the ridgeline in front and back.

This is also my first post, so hi all!

Hammock
    G-Bird II/Bridge
    Tarp
    Ogee tarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images
    KC, welcome to the forum. Wise choice in the warbonnet line. All excellent products from Brandon.
    Ambulo tua ambulo.

Hammock
    WB BB 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    MacCat Dlx SpinnUL
    Insulation
    Phoenix/Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    The Warbonnet Blackbird is a great hammock, though trekking poles will NOT be sufficiently strong to hang one. They work well for supporting a tarp in porch mode, however. The "rule of thumb" is a 4" tree for any hammock because the loads are substantial. In my experience, less, and the tree is bending from the weight and really screws up getting a taut tarp pitch.