Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

double layer hammock pattern

This is my first post on this forum and I'm fairly new to hammock camping. I have a couple hammocks (an ENO doublenest that I love and a HH expedition ultralight that I don't) that I've logged a few nights in. Where we live in PA it's often very hard to find a piece of ground without rocks to pitch a tent. So, I'm thinking of moving the whole family (4 kids and 2 adults) into hammocks for backpacking. The kids are 10, 8, 4, and 3, so they don't take up much room and I was thinking about having them share hammocks. The problem with the kids is that they even move around more than adults and I have no confidence that they would stay on sleeping pads.

I've looked a bit at some hammocks that had two layers to be able to put a pad in between the layers. I'd like to try and make a couple lightweight and cheap double hammocks. I've never made a hammock before and don't know where to start. I've looked at the tutorial above and think that I could do it. However, I've never actually seen a double layer hammock and am not sure how to do it. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Hammock
    currently my DIY bridge
    Tarp
    8 x 10 sil tarp
    Insulation
    DIY tq,pads
    Suspension
    whoopie sling
    Welcome to the forums, Bigwig. I have made several hammocks, but not a double layered. I'll leave it for someone with more experience to jump in here. Simple hammocks are quite easy to make and require only basic sewing skills.

I'm not sure which tutorial you refer to. Here is a page with a basic double layered hammock. Risk's ZHammock

You might also want to search the DIY forums for double layered hammocks.

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images