Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Exclamation Noob here... Need HELP & Advice???

Hello all, I am new to the forum as well as hammock camping. I recently purchased a hennsey expedition. I used it this past weekend for the first time. The temp overnight was about 66-70. I slept in jogging shorts and a t-shirt. I also used a 40 degree sleeping bag as a quilt.http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/pr...LAID=236230689 I found that if i was covered up by the sleeping bag I was a little too warm and would sweat. If using no cover it was slightly chilly. I also found out that it was chilly for skin to be on the hammock instead of laying on the quilt. I used a fleece pull over as a pillow which worked pretty well. I am planning on doing a 85 mile hike on the AT this next week. I expect to experience overnight lows to be in the mid 50's. I am planning on sleeping in wind pants, a long sleeve shirt and socks. I was also thinking about taking along one of these to lay under my quilt inside the hammock. http://www.amazon.com/Windshield-Sun.../dp/B001DZWXTW And using the same quilt. I am leaving early Saturday morning and hope to get some advice from you experienced hammocker's... Thanks

Hammock
    not quite eno..
    Tarp
    10x12 DIY
    Insulation
    insultex+momentum
    Suspension
    DIY whoopie slings
    Images
    a blue foam/closed cell foam pad would be an excellent supplement to your reflector, and can be trimmed to fit the parts of you that are the coldest. backyard testing highly recommended.
    consider the possibility of a fleece type sleeping bag matched with the reflector also....
    KM

So would both be necessary in those temps? or could i just stick with the foam pad?

Hammock
    not quite eno..
    Tarp
    10x12 DIY
    Insulation
    insultex+momentum
    Suspension
    DIY whoopie slings
    Images