Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Hammaka HALO SE
    Tarp
    JRB 11X10
    Insulation
    My Poncho Pod

A little disappointed...or confused...

Hey there folks...I've been in the back ground for a while now and decided to join the site today. I've made two DIY hammocks now...one totaly experimental (just to see if I could do it) and the other was used last weekend on the trail. My disappointment comes from the fact that I tried to re-whip the one used last weekend. It did not work...I dont know if I did not fold it right or what...but I have a very tight center and lots of flap on both sides. I folded the material with an asem. shape and then used the roll technique that HeadChange photographed...not sure where I went wrong...but it's not right...LOL...I am completely new to this whole concept of camping and dont have a clue...thus the reason it took me so long to join the discussion...I am going to rework the hammock again tomorrow evening...what I need is a crash couse on how to properly hang a hammock. I've made a set of tree huggers and such...so securing the hammock to the tree is not the problem. I am confused on the ridge line and such. I feel that the hammock needs a structural ridge line...I am just not understanding how to hang the hammock and attach a ridge line...I've read Jeff's page and must say he's done a great job on the whole thing...that's where I learned about this site. I guess on question is...how far can the trees be apart and the hammock preform as expected? How close? I'll take a few photos of how I had it set up last weekend and tell me where I've gone wrong. I'll set it up and take them tomorrow and post them tomorrow evening. With last weekend's set up...I would sleep a little and have to repostion myself in it...I dont know anyone who's local to me who has a hammock that does this type of camping...so I am at the mercy of yall.

Thanks again for all the help.
    Last edited by alex30808; 09-09-2007 at 21:44.

Hammock