Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sewing Help

Sewing Help

Not sure if this is the correct area to post, but i'll give it a shot.

Went packing on North Manitou Island without a hammock and reaffirmed why I joined this forum in the first place......"Terra firma is Overrated".

After 3 nights on the ground I surprisingly found the inspiration to dust off the sewing machine that was given to me and put my foot to work.

Before I destroy any more sheets, I have a couple questions.

In general, is there any zig-zag pattern/stitch length to use?

Unless I am holding the material taught while sewing, it bunches up. Is this normal?

So far all of my practices have looked good on the top, but every once in awhile the upper thread will leave loose loops on the underside. What causes this?

Sorry to be a pain, but I am a newbie "tailor" for sure and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Randy
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I've cut it twice and it's still too short.

Hammock
    DIYZipper top entry
    Tarp
    MEC silnylon
    Images