Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Tarp
    10x12 El Cheapo
    Suspension
    Cargo Straps

DIY free and budget hammocks and other gear on the super cheap

Just for fun I thought we could share ideas for hammocking with next to nothing. As you probably read from my intro, I was a homeless vet for a little over two years, and if anyone here has been homeless they know how fast down and dirty innovations can come.

I was wondering if one of the blue cheapo tarps could serve this purpose? Maybe doing an accordion fold on it lengthwise, and tie off the ends with some nice over-engineered prussics.

Hey, with the majority of Americans a paycheck or two away from homelessness, and the economy in the crapper, this could turn out to be a quite valuable thread.
    Last edited by Ozark Mac; 06-06-2010 at 14:32. Reason: changed title

Hammock
    currently my DIY bridge
    Tarp
    8 x 10 sil tarp
    Insulation
    DIY tq,pads
    Suspension
    whoopie sling
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozark Mac View Post
    I was wondering if one of the blue cheapo tarps could serve this purpose? Maybe doing an accordion fold on it lengthwise, and tie off the ends with some nice over-engineered prussics.
    )
    I have heard of this being done. Don't know that they used prussics, but there are various knots that work.

Another possibility is to get some heavy fabric at Walmart and use it instead of the blue tarp. That way you get breathabilty, and if heavy enough wouldn't need to be hemmed. I did this for my first test hammock and it worked well.

Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Tarp
    10x12 El Cheapo
    Suspension
    Cargo Straps
    Quote Originally Posted by krugd View Post
    I have heard of this being done. Don't know that they used prussics, but there are various knots that work.