Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

JRB's Bear Mountain Bridge Hammock

Pan- Can you explain some of the advantages of the new BMBH? I'm new to hammocking and have been seriuosly considering a Clark. So far I've spent 5 nights in a HH.

Thanks.

Ken
    Last edited by Just Jeff; 10-01-2007 at 09:58. Reason: Thread split from http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1927

Hammock
    JRB BMBH
    Tarp
    JRB 11x10 Cat Tarp
    Insulation
    JRB UQ of season
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by ken999 View Post
    Pan- Can you explain some of the advantages of the new BMBH? I'm new to hammocking and have been seriuosly considering a Clark. So far I've spent 5 nights in a HH.

Thanks.

Ken

Ken999, et al,

Bear Mountain Bridge Hammock advantages:

It is a top loader, so getting in or out could not be easier.

True lay flat and lay straight ( no almost flat, no nearly flat etc, no requirement to lay asymetrically, therefore no trunk torque, minor or not.... it is flat)...

You can sleep on your side and not slide into a fetal curl...

You can lay on your stomach, although some side angle may be more comfortable for stomach sleepers.

It has a pad pocket that will accomodate pads up to 26 inches in width.

The pads do not have to have taper trimming to reduce or eliminate irritating folds or wrinkles... The pocket is a rectangle and it stays a rectangle when the hammock is loaded...

Retangular under quilts align with ease... provide the maximum of warmth and comfort and minimization of insulation bulk in pack.

The hammock body is isolated from the suspension lines so there is no need to use socks as drip stops or to add drip cords.

The bug net , under 4 oz, is removable.... leave it home and save weight once the mosquitos and bug have quit flying for the season.... it fully secures with perimeter omnitape, hence no zippers to fail.... It holds it shape on the hammock without a ridge cord/strap