Crinkle Custom
    Tarp
    HH
    Insulation
    brrr
    Suspension
    Whoopies, Straps

Are there any downsides to Whoopie Sling Suspension

Hey all, so I have been going over what kind of suspension system I would like to go with. I'm considering whoopie slings. Now keep in mind I'm a noob and I have never seen these in action. The queston is, are there any downsides to the Whoopie Sling Suspension System? If so what are they?
    "What one Man can do, another can do!"
    Jons4real

http://www.youtube.com/user/jons4real

Hammock
    DIY Stretch-Side
    Tarp
    DIY Cat Cut Hex
    Insulation
    Phoenix and Nest
    Suspension
    cinch buckles
    Images
    The main downside is the need to use separate whoopies and tree huggers. With web strap suspensions it's all one piece and goes up easier/quicker.

The benefit to whoopies is they're light weight and low volume.
    Knotty
    "Don't speak unless it improves the silence." -proverb
    DIY Gathered End Hammock
    DIY Stretch-Side Hammock
    Stretch-Side "Knotty Mod"
    DIY Bugnet

Hammock
    GrizzBridge Ariel
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Winter
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Images
    another downside of a whoopie sling is that you extend the minimum distance between trees between which you can hang--at twice the length of the bury, figure 2 ft. Perhaps more of an issue when you want to hang from a stand than when you can choose trees.
    Grizz
    (alias ProfessorHammock on youtube)

Hammock
    Crinkle Custom
    Tarp
    HH
    Insulation
    brrr
    Suspension
    Whoopies, Straps
    Quote Originally Posted by GrizzlyAdams View Post
    another downside of a whoopie sling is that you extend the minimum distance between trees between which you can hang--at twice the length of the bury, figure 2 ft. Perhaps more of an issue when you want to hang from a stand than when you can choose trees.