Images

UQ without darting?

Has anybody made an underquilt without darting the material?

I've got an old down comforter that my gf said that she'll never use, so I can do whatever I want with it. It's minimum 75% down filling (according to the tag) with polyester lining, 58x74. Unfortunately one side is polyester fleece, so it weighs about 3.5 lbs. A bit heavy for backpacking and cycling, but I'm not ready to spend $150+ for this...

I'm not good with sewing and not sure that our sewing machine could handle such thick material. My thought was to just sew some channels along the four edges, cinch the short ends to the carabiners with shock cord to keep it stretched and use shock cord along the long edges tied to a higher set of tree straps to keep it hanging against the bottom of the hammock. I also considered adding some tieouts to my Beyer Moskito hammock to keep it in place. I understand that it won't fit perfectly, but will it fit well enough? The trip that I'm preparing for is in early August and temps are currently in the mid to high 40s at night. I'll be using a 0 degree mummy bag as a top quilt and can wear wool or polyester fleece if needed.

BTW, how do you get in a hammock with an UQ installed? Do you stretch the side cords and push down on it while you're getting in, allowing it to rebound back to the hammock once you're in? What size shock cords would you recommend for such a heavy material?

Thanks!

Hammock
    G-Bird II/Bridge
    Tarp
    Ogee tarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ DIY Down UQ
    Suspension
    whoopies
    Images
    Your blanket can work. Not the best solution. Its going to be tough to get a good fit. Either tackle the "learning curve" of the sewing machine, or hand stitch some channels for the cords to go thru.