Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Singlenest Vs Double for a single :-p

Hi all, I'm new to Hammocking but I'm quite excited about jumping into it all. Wanting to start off simple I am planing on buying just an ENO single or double nest this evening and seeing how I take to it. Main purpose for now is simply to lounge in and out of house and a resting spot during breaks when traveling for paintball, not quite outright camping or all night sleeping YET. So it while I have a girlfriend most of it's use is going to be me and me alone. With that said, how would you recommend a singlenest to a double for comfort? Too much material for the double? I also heard the single isn't as comfortable when it comes to sitting it in sideways like a chair or swing and the double might be a better option. Ideally, I would like to lay and converse with others lounging in chairs or whatnot while I am in the hammock so too much material on the sides would be cumbersome, if even laying diagonally I wouldn't be able to overcome that. I am 5'10 and about 200 lbs.

Simple things but they make a difference to me for the uses I have in store. Any input is appreciated!

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    My vote, get the Double.

The excess fabric is easy enough to deal with by repositioning your body. Putting your head on, or near, the edge will hold down the fabric just fine. One side will be blocked by fabric regardless of which model you choose, so better to get the more flexible of the two. Since weight isn't an issue for you, then the Double can be heard saying "Pick me! Pick me"!

Give it few runs and you'll find several good positions for chatting with friends. The ENO style hammocks are my favorite for lounging; easily. I think you've made a great choice for your current needs.

Welcome to the Forums!
    Trust nobody!

Oak Ridge & Linville Gorge, North Carolina
    Hammock