Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Questions and advice on the new zippered Hennesy's

Hello All. I am looking at HH's Deep Jungle Asym (with the dbl bottom and radiant heat pad). Since I am a bit new to all this, I was wondering about the advantages of the zippered side v. bottom opening. Also, feelings on this hammock v. the other HH line? I am really looking for something 3 season, and like the idea of a double bottom rather than messing with the sleeping pad.

Also, any thoughts around the material comparison? I am usually around 180 lbs., with a 30-50lb pack.

Really appreciate the advice.

-Frostbyte

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 Double
    Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe Spin
    Insulation
    Baby Orca, Pad
    Suspension
    Webbing
    Check out the Hennessy Hammock sub-forum.

I don't own a HH, but I heavily researched the HH Deep Jungle versus the War Bonnet Blackbird. I eventually chose the WBBB, but here's my opinions on the subject:

Also check out http://www.BackpackGearTest.org/revi...ters/Hammocks/ for some great reviews of the HH Deep Jungle and the WBBB (and other hammocks).

- HH's bottom entry seems to be a love-hate issue. The side zipper offers an easier entry, plus you can unzip the bug net and use the hammock as a chair much easier than the HH bottom entry hammocks. FYI, a lot of bottom entry HH owners have installed aftermarket side zippers (2QZQ or something to that effect).
    - HH bottom entry hammocks require a slotted underquilt (UQ) for cold weather use, so that you can attach the UQ and still enter the hammock through the bottom slit.
    - Another side zipper benefit: if your UQ shifts around, you can easily adjust it without getting out of the hammock.
    - The HH Deep Jungle is rated at somewhere around 250-300 lbs
    - You can order WBBBs in various material strengths, from single layer to double layer, and get a more custom hammock that suits your needs.