Tarp
    DIY Tyvek
    Insulation
    DIY Full UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies & Toggles
    Images

DIY UQ from down comforter

Heyya. I'd like to pick your collective brains for a sec.

I'd say I'm pretty new to the hammocking community, but my heart is definitely here. Unfortunately, my wallet isn't. (Doesn't that describe so many of us?) So I've been using a Thermarest Z-rest pad under me as I hammock, but have begun to covet a nice down UQ. (Again, doesn't that describe so many of us?)

Well a week or so ago, I was rummaging through my linen closet when I stumbled upon two Queen-size quilts (80" x 80"), one down and one synthetic! I cautiously approached my wife:

"Honey, I don't ever remember seeing that down comforter used in the last 10 years or so...canIhaveitforahammockunderquiltpleaseohplease ?" She said yes. So now I'm trying to figure out how best to use what I've got.

First: what are the drawbacks of sewing and slicing up the quilt as-is, without transferring the down into a nylon shell? I believe the cover is a cotton/poly blend of some sort.

Second, if I'm careful, could I make an UQ and a TQ from one 80" x 80" quilt? Maybe instead of slicing straight down 40", I could angle the line 20-30 degrees and have two tapered quilts? I'd HATE to end up with two unusable quilts instead of one excellent quilt with some extra material removed.

Third: I'm planning on using the down for both, if I can. But assuming that it doesn't measure out right, should I use the down for the UQ and synthetic for the TQ or vice versa?

Thanks, y'all!

Hammock
    DIY,WBBB,DutchBridge
    Tarp
    Cuben,Superfly
    Insulation
    Quilts :P
    Suspension
    Dutchware
    first i must ask...do you car camp....or are you more of a backpacker...
    i only ask because it will be on the heavy side when it's done...
    if it was me...i would get some ripstop and make my shell...and just use the down from the quilt to save weight...