Tarp
    HG Cuben/Standard
    Insulation
    Crowsnest
    Suspension
    Dynaglide whoopies
    Images

Hennessy Expition tarp and a Newb

Hello everyone here at hammock forums, I'm very new to hammocking as I do not own one yet. I have only borrowed a friends eno and war bonnet before. I would love to own a black bird but will not have the funds in time for my next trip and will eventually need two hammock set ups for my girlfriend and myself.

With that being said I'm planning on get the Hennessy Expedition but do not know what to do about the tarp. Should I stick with the stock poly tarp? For only $10 I can upgrade to the stock size silnylon tarp and for $20 I can upgrade to the poly hex tarp. The silnylon hex is a $90 upgrade and I know I wont have that in time.

So I guess the question is it worth the extra weight to get the poly hex over the silnylon stock size? Will the stock tarp provide enough coverage to be comfortable? Also I could never actually find the weight of the stock tarps, poly or silnylon so I don't know.

Hammock
    Hennessy Explorer, GT UL
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    I just bought an Explorer and took it out last weekend. It rained pretty hard, and I stayed mostly dry with the stock rainfly...the hammock was a little wet near the foot, though I did not feel it, and it dried quickly.

The impression that I got was that with the stock fly you had to stay pretty aware of the direction of the wind/rain since it hangs a little shorter on alternating sides (it is a rectangle hung corner to corner).

I am looking forward to "upgrading" to a larger size to give me a little better coverage, but for a starter it is definitely livable. Not to mention that I have kids that I am planning on making scaled-down hammocks for, and that fly should give them plenty of coverage, so there is no waste of equipment when I do make another purchase!

It looks like they have the dimensions and weight on the comparison page for the different models: