Tarp
    HG Cuben/Standard
    Insulation
    Crowsnest
    Suspension
    Dynaglide whoopies
    Images

Weird lay on Grand Trunk UL

I could not find a thread about this so hopefully someone can help me with this. I recently got a grand trunk ultralight and finally had the oppurtunity to set it up. It may just be me but when I hung it, and the laid in it and the only part that was taught was wherever there was pressure from my body. The sides hung down and remained very lose so its was like laying on a 12 inch wide hammock. I also tried laying diagnal and changing the way I hung the hammock multiple times with no luck. I'm very new to hammocking and have only used my friends eno single and warbonnet traveler and did not have this problem. Hopefully I explained my issue correctly. If anyone else has had this problem I would love to hear how you dealt with it.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.0 DL
    Tarp
    WB Edge (Spinn UL)
    Insulation
    JRB TQ, Multimat
    Suspension
    WB cinch buckles
    I have a Grand Trunk Nano 7 and I've experienced some of the same issues. Sounds like you need to adjust your "sag" in the hammock... (basically, how much tension there is in the hammock, how much it sags toward the ground in a banana shape). Check out dejoha's Hammock Camping: The Basics for a great illustration and Just Jeff's Suspension page for some info.

The type of suspension you have will vary how you adjust it, but you have to make sure your tree straps are high enough on the tree to have approx a 30 degree angle between the hammock suspension line and the tree. Then you adjust how taut the hammock is strung to increase or decrease sag until you find something that's comfortable. A ridgeline (see Just Jeff's page for details) on the hammock can help you in getting a repeatable setup, or an adjustable ridgeline can let you adjust the amount of sag easily without fiddling with the suspension each time.