Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New Member HH Help

Let me first say that I am a newbie. In fact, I am looking to purchase my first hammock and for camping and for various reasons have been drawn to Hennessy. I have watched all the videos, performed many searches here, but have not been able to find satisfactory answers to all of my questions. I was hoping that people here could help.

Keep in mind, that if I buy a HH, it will be under the current promotion and will include the larger Hex Fly. Please consider that with any issues/benefits I might encounter.

Here are the questions:

1) First, how do you set these things up if it is raining? All the videos show the hammock being set up, then the fly done last. Obviously, the hammock would be soaked by then. Any experiences there? I am guessing you could set up the fly temporarily, setup the hammock, and then re-attach the fly???

2) Can you use a closed cell, thermarest, wool blanket, any type of mat or insulation with these without purchasing anything extra? I don’t really want to buy the undercover which costs about the same price as the entire hammock. Price is one of the things attracting me to the HH.

Overall, I can tell you what my goals are for the HH. I want it mostly for summer camping. However, here in Michigan I have been in the UP in the very middle of summer and have still had temps get into the upper 40’s, low 50’s. I am not looking at this for cold weather camping in general, but I need to realistically prepare the temps stated above. If you tell me I don't need any type of lower insulation for those temps, then that is good too.

Thanks in advance for any help,
    Brian

Hammock
    Warbonnet ON!
    Tarp
    SuperFly or MacCat
    Insulation
    Yetis & Mambas
    Suspension
    Webbing and rings
    Images
    Welcome!

1. Don't attach the fly to the hammock. It will cause many bad words to come from your mouth anyway. Set-up the tarp first and adjust the hammock underneath to fit. JMHO.