Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Turning a sleeping bag into a UQ. BUt still being a sleeping bag.

Ok,

So I was wondering if anyone has an plans for turning a rectangular bag into an under quilt, but designing it so I can still use it as a sleeping bag should I need to sleep on the ground?

Thanks in advance

Arizonared

Hammock
    diy DL HH explorer asym w/shelf
    Tarp
    jrb hex spinn
    Insulation
    winter crowsnest
    Suspension
    whoopies/toggles
    You could add shock cord channels or loops for the shock cord to pass then add the s cords for suspending it...

Would I add the loops along the side?

Sorry, I am just new to making stuff like this and this is probably a simple question.

Hammock
    DIY
    Images
    What i tried was to use shock cord to tie up each of the corners of the sleeping bag. the shock cord then goes to 4 places, 2 loops go up to the ridgeline for hanging, and 2 to the ends of the hammock for extra tension.

the picture above shows my system. the red and green lines are shock cord, effectively the harness for the UQ. the blue is the sleeping bag.

the shock cord is tied around the sleeping bag corners. once tied they are tight and you get a little bundle of sleeping bag material where the corner used to be. the left side of the diagram shows approximately what it looks like when tight, it effectively cinches up the bag so that it fits the hammock better

i've found that if you get the lengths even everywhere, the sleeping bag will stay in place under the hammock.

so now i just take two 'harnesses' of shock cord with me. when i want to use my extra sleeping bag as an underquilt, I just stick the corners of the material into loops in the shock cord and tighten them. then i hang it all up and there you have an instant UQ. the loops in the shock cord could be anything - you could use a small alpine butterfly loop for example. or you could just tie a clove hitch.