Tarp
    DIY Sil Ogee, etc.
    Insulation
    IX UQ & TQ +fleece
    Suspension
    DIY whoopies
    Images

Light fleece UUQ

Tonights project was an underquilt... but without the quilting.
    I think I'll call it UUQ for Under Un-Quilt.

No idea what it weighs. Don't have a scale.

Doesn't compress well. Rolls to about 13" x 5" diameter.

Shell side

fleece side

1) Started with very light Polyester camo (feels like liner fabric, was $3/yd clearance at Joann).
    2) Cut to the KAQ shell dimensions.
    3) Hemmed perimeter with wide hem so I can run cord through it for attachment to hammock.
    4) Darted sides
    5) Attached grosgrain loops at 4 corners and 2 darts for more attachment options
    6) Pinned one layer of fleece to shell and sewed along the edge, attaching fleece to shell
    7) Trimmed off excess fleece

I think I have just enough shell and fleece left to make a rectangular one for one of my kids.

I'm new at this and have gone down to the low 40s comfortably with a z-lite pad under, a fleece bag liner, and sleeping bag as a TQ.
    I don't expect this UUQ to mean I can go without the z-lite, but hope it:
    -blocks some wind, reducing convective cooling of any parts that slip off of the z-lite overnight
    -provides a little bit of insulation (not expecting much)
    -gives me a place to stuff other bottom insulation, like a SA down throw or two, maybe a sheet of insul-bright, a space blanket, thin foam, etc.

I hope to have time to set up the hammock tomorrow and sort out how to mount the UUQ, but probably won't get to sleep in it until Sunday or Monday night.

Oh, here's the fleece TQ I made last week... or I guess it's a TUQ.
    http://gear-report.com/wp-content/up...0_1020x765.jpg
    "I keep telling myself that if I make perfect seams, nobody will believe that I made it... " -JohnSawyer

My outdoor gear review site http://gear-report.com
    Gear reviews, DIY / MYOG projects, Outdoor gear discounts, sales and coupons updated daily