ENO Dbl nest
    Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    3s Phoenix
    Suspension
    whoopies

Overfill?

Hey I'm new to the UQ world. Ive been looking at a 3 season crowsnest with 900 down. What kind of warmth would I gain by adding additional ounces of overfill or would it really be worth it since it might compress the down to much?

Hammock
    WarbonnetBlackbird
    Tarp
    Olive Superfly
    Insulation
    Incubat Dempsey TQ
    Suspension
    Stock Webbing
    I went with the Winter Incubator with +2 oz of down. It gives the quilt a more firm feel and I don't have to fiddle with it to get the down where I need it.

I'm not sure how much lower it will get me, but I like the way it turned out.

If you can get a hold of HammockGear.com I'd ask them for some guidance.

Hammock
    WL Snipe
    Tarp
    HG4seasonCFw/doors
    Insulation
    Hammock gear UQ/TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    Overfilling has advantages and disadvantages. Remember, insulation provides dead airspace that can be warmed and mass to maintain the warmth. Insulation must be first warmed by an outside source (your body) to provide warmth.

Each ounce of overfill will provide 1-2 degrees of additional warmth. there must be room for the down to loft up to provide this warmth. The UQ designed and made by Storm Crow are more than capable of accepting the extra 6oz of overfill, as there is plenty of room for the loft to occur.

The disadvantages of overfilling are: weight, cost, and increased bulk of the compressed package.

You will definitely notice the warmth. Personally, if you are a "cold sleeper" and have the extra cash to spend, the extra overfill is definitely worth the price.

These guys make an astoundingly good product, and in my opinion, are a huge value for what they are are charging. Definitely worth the wait and cost for their product!

Hope this helps,
    Jose Diaz

Hammock
    ENO Dbl nest
    Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    3s Phoenix
    Suspension