Thread: Getting started

Getting started

As I said in my intro post, I am just getting started with the whole hammock thing as a result of other hammock converts I know. I purchased a HH Hyperlite that I will be getting as a Christmas gift. Normally I wouldn't start out buying something at this relative price range, but it was too good of a deal to pass up.

What I a want to do is figure out a good starting point for insulation/sleeping gear. I currently have a couple of different sleeping bags (synthetic, no down), an inflatable sleeping pad, and one of the blue foam pads from wal-mart. With the bottom entry of the HH, I am not sure if what I have are good options.

I know weather conditions, personal preferences, and budget are just some of the things that play into my decision, but I figure I can skip some of the learning curve (and cost) with the collective experience here.

My priority is a reduced weight and bulk system for backpacking. I generally backpack in the fall and spring in MO and AR. Overnight temps are typically in the upper 30's to low 50's but could drop into the 20's. Rain is always a possibility. My goal is to be set up for a multi-day hike of the Buffalo River Trail and return float on the Buffalo River I am planning for the last week of March.

Secondary priority is summer camping with overnight temps in the 70's or 80's with high humidity. Summer is usually car camping so weight, bulk, etc are not as big of a deal.

I am not interested in DIY gear at this point due to lack of skill and time. I am budget conscious but will spend money on a good value.