HH Expedition Asym
    Tarp
    Superfly w/ Doors
    Insulation
    Crowsnest 3/4
    Suspension
    Treehugger Straps

Needle and Thread Sizes

I'm a newbie to thread injecting and I'd like some advice on needle and thread selection. What size needles are recommended for:
    rip-stop nylon
    sil-nylon
    noseeum
    grosgrain
    Poly webbing

I understand thread size should match the needle, but what is that size ratio? Is thread material important, or is polyester used for everything?
    "That he is mad, 'tis true, 'tis Pithy, and Pithy 'tis, 'tis true..."

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images
    Unless you have an industrial machine, which is doubtful, regular easily available 100% polyester thread in "all purpose" weight is fine. The needle size is a personal preference in most cases. I think it is a mistake to get overly concerned with those details when you are just getting started. You can find charts giving those ratios somewhere on line, but to be honest they are far too anal for me to get into. If the needle breaks or bends it is too light. If it punches the fabric down into the throat plate it is too heavy. Other than that... find one you like and go with it. I like a larger needle because it is easier for me to see the eye and get it threaded. Others like a smaller needle because they like a smaller puncture diameter in the fabric. Ultimately it is up to you.

What is more important is thread quality and needle quality and type. The universal point is adequate for the materials you listed. DO NOT use "ball point" needles as they are intended for knit and stretch fabrics. My own preference is "sharps" but they are getting harder to find as the "universal" takes over the market.
    I may be slow... But I sure am gimpy.