Tarp
    DIY, ENO Dryfly
    Insulation
    pad
    Suspension
    DIY whoopie slings

Purchasing an under quilt

Hello all
    I have been hammocking for right at six years now, hiking mainly mid fall thru mid spring. I have been using a sleeping mat for my insulation this whole time and decided that its time to move up in the world. I have narrowed it down to a hammockgear.com under quilt but I have a few questions.

1. Being that I am 5ft. 2in. would the incubator be over kill?
    2. Since I hike mostly in cold weather. If I was to buy a 3 season 3/4 underquilt, would using a sleeping mat help bring down the rating for colder nights or does it hurt the temp. rating?
    3. I have a HHULB hammock will the under quilt lay asymmetrical with the hammock or does to try to constricted the hammock?

Thanks

Hammock
    Eno Doublenest
    Tarp
    OES Standard
    Insulation
    AHE KAQ
    Suspension
    Amsteel w\MSH
    Images
    Hello there. Fellow NC hiker also.

I dont think it would be overkill, but I think you could save some bucks and get by with a 3/4 just as well. This is just my opinion. You will still need to use something under the part of your legs that isnt covered by a 3/4 quilt, even if it is 6 inches of leg compared to say 10 inches of a taller person.

Using a mat and an under quilt isnt really recommended because the quilt functions as an insulator, and if no heat gets through the pad to the quilt, there is nothing to insulate. You will need a small piece of ccf pad if you use a 3/4 quilt. But that wont be covering the UQ.

I cant help with the HHULB question because I use an ENO top loader and havent tried the Henessey. I'm sure someone will chime in that has though.

Hammock
    Warbonnet
    Tarp
    HG/BWWD/Z-Packs
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Woopies & Straps
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by ncwinterhiker View Post
    Hello all