Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Images

Preparation for my first Colorado Winter Hang...

...and future winter hanging in the Rockies.

Hi All,
    Although I have been hanging for many years I have not done any winter hanging in Colorado. I XCski, snowshoe and day hike in winter but never overnite.

I am assembling a completely new kit for this first of many over nite trips and would like your input, suggestions, ideas.

Temperature during the day can vary between 0F and 50F, at night the temps can range between 20F and -10F you just never know what mother nature will throw at you this time of year.
    So far real winter weather has not arrived on the front range.

My new kit contains the following new and old items.
    Shelter:
    Hammock- WBBB 1.1 double, Tarp- WB superfly, UQ- WB 3 season, Top cover- AE BB-O, Western Mountaineering -15 down bag, Heatsheet spaceblanket and HH open cell foam pad to go between the hammock bottom layers. Ditty bag with assortment of tent stakes, extra line.

Clothing:
    Watchmans cap, balacava, Arcteryx Shell with hood, Marmot heavy down jacket, Arcteryx 1/4 zip heavy micro fleece top, Mtn Hardware syn over pants, Rail Riders nylon winter pants, Cabelas Heavy silk underware. Smartwool Exp wool socks(3pair) Smartwool glove liners, Marmot winter ski gloves. Merrell polartec waterproof 8" boots. Ski goggles yellow, clear, dark gray interchangable lenses, sun glasses.

Food Prep:
    2 half gallon water bottles, 100oz bladder, MSR XGK EX Extreme Condition Stove (white gas), 2- 8oz gas bottles, MSR 1 qt pot with lid and 8" MSR skillet. Pot holder, spork, assorted bottles of spices, travel size wet-ones for clean up.

MISC Gear:
    Kahtoola MICROspikes, Walking poles, ditty bag with advil, lipbalm, match-safe, sm flashlite, compass, extra batteries, TP, small firstaid kit, etc.
    Headlamp.

To carry all this gear I have a 20 year old Lowe internal frame ~5500ci