Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Help! most uncomfortable I've ever been!

I'm hoping someone of you hammock experts can tell me what I'm doing wrong...

I'm new to hammocks; only slept in mine (Skeeter Beater) a few times now, each time for only a few hours. I've read many of the posts here over the past few months and watched a bunch of hammock videos on Youtube (Shug is very informative).

Today I setup my hammock in my yard, to test out my "cold weather system": a segmented CCF pad with a truck windshield reflector bonded to it, along with a down throw modified with shock cord threaded thru the end seams to cinch it closed on each end.

I was in wool socks, polypro undershirt & pants, light wool overshirt, and balaclava (my neck gets cold otherwise). According to the online weather, it is 40 degrees F right now (I just came inside), and I was definately warm enough. That's not the problem.

I think the problem is the "angle of the dangle", in setting up the hammock. I tried to use the "Hammock Hang Calculator" by Derek Hansen, with these settings:
    14' between the trees, ridgeline length of 8' (I think that's what the SB has), and a preferred sit height of 24".

The program gave me a hang point of about 6.5', with 3.5' suspension length. However, I must not understand the exact terms, because when I tied my hammock up using these measured distances, the bottom of the hammock (unloaded) was over 4' from the ground.

So, here are my first questions; is the suspension length measured from the tree attachment point to the gathered end of the hammock? How is the ridgeline length measured? I from gathered end to gathered end while it lay on the ground...Is the sit height measured loaded or unloaded?

4' off the ground was too high to comfortably get into the hammock, so I ran the program with a sit height of 18", and re-rigged it at the modifed hang point of just over 6'.