Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Noob Q: Which HH special?

I'm a hanging noob about to pull the trigger on a HH Deep Jungle XL zip w/ hex fly. I didn't purchase during the Christmas special sale with the Scout, but now I regret it.

The current HH promotion is the Stay Warm SuperShelter promotion. I live in SC and plan on using the hammock while section hiking (NoBo) the AT starting in mid-May. Do you think it would be worthwhile to take advantage of this special, or might there be a special in the April timeframe that may be more applicable for my situation?

The Hennessy rep told me over the phone they would probably switch promotions in the April timeframe. I don't know if I should take advantage of the current promotion, buy the DJ hammock alone now, or wait for whatever the new promotion might be. Any thoughts from those more experienced with hanging? Thanks.

- Cruffler

Well Cruffler, I would decide if the HHSS is something you need/want.. there are reviews going each way, seems to be love it or hate it. So if you think a SS is what you want vs. say quilts then pull the trigger cause it's a deal for the SS.. but if you think you may not want to go the way of the SS then I say wait til april and see what's new if that's when they said they'd change it. You'll still be able to get your hammock in time to get it out a couple weekends. my .02

Thanks, Slo. I guess what I was asking in a roundabout way was whether the SS would be needed outside of early spring temps here in GA, NC, and TN. I have no idea what the temperature range for the SS might be.

Will the Deep Jungle bubble pad or bubble pad and CC foam pad be sufficient for shielding my backside, or do I NEED the SS for cooler mountain evenings?

-Cruffler