Hammock
    Warbonnet BB!
    Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    JRB HR (2)

Warm and cold, top and bottom

Hi!

1) I'm new! (new-ish - I lurk a lot here and there.)

2) I couldn't figure out if this had been asked in one of the forums - after guessing search terms for a while and missing, I thought I would just post the question.

I have a HH ultralite backpacker, and though I have not yet camped in it (still playing with hanging it and reading in forums until freezing nights are less likely to turn me into a hikersicle) I am definitely seeking ways to keep warm, as I can't sleep cold. I have a 30 degree mummy bag that was okay in the low 40s - high 30s; I can use it as a quilt, claustrophobia aside, but it's heavy for what it is and packs rather larger than I like.

So, armed with the knowledge that Uncle Sam is sending me funds once my return is processed, I am doing my research. I have my eye on a Rocky Mtn Sniveller/Old Rag Mtn combo, but I also contemplated going for a Hudson River/Old Rag Mtn instead, and just pushing the underquilt aside. My reasoning was that having the bag, the HR, and the ORM means essentially three different weights of cover (four counting a bag liner) that can be combined as necessary depending on the weather conditions. I'm not at all sure I would even want the sniveller and considering just getting two ORMs. I don't tend to like bulky clothing and prefer to layer rather than turn Michelin man. If I get too cold for the layers I'd be in the sack curled up in the quilts anyway. I'm also thinking that I will be throwing one of the quilts on my bed when I'm not out in the sticks with it - making a bag out of a couple of queen sheets to protect the ripstop would be a snap. It would be nice to have two different weights for that as well.