Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help me make the "right" choice

So I'm new to hammocks, I've been a Solo tent guy for the last 4 years. I've decided to try and swap out to a Hammock as I have a growing hatred for the unlevel world.

But lets get into why I made this thread.

I'm 5'9 or 5'10. 160lbs. I planned on going with Hennesy Hammocks as they seem to be the Bee Knees from what I hear. I was just wondering what model I should go with. I want to stay under $250 after everything. (excluding shipping)

I will use it during mostly summer but I sometimes will camp in the other 3 seasons. I want it to hold up well in rain as well.

So any suggestions on a base model and what else I need to make it comfortable/better.

Remember I'm a complete noob, so with the $250 limit what is my best bet?

Images
    At your height/weight... I could suggest the $20 Grand Trunks Ultralight. Swap out the suspension with whoopie slings, which you can get from whoopieslings.com, jacksrbetter, arrowheadequipment, or make your own. This will be a 10-11oz set up. and cost less than $100 for the hammock

Then choose a nice tarp, warbonnet superfly type large tarp, or one of OES micro for fast light hiking, or something along those lines.

you'll stay in budget, be comfortable, and nice and light.

To stay with HH, the ultralight backpacker would fit your budget, but I don't think you'd like the stock tarp. Picking up another tarp would put you over budget at that point.

There's warbonnet's 1.0 DL blackbird, nice size, comfort and affordable for you too. Around $130 for the hammock, leaving room to pick up a nice tarp too.

Too many options, really.

Hammock
    DIY
    Images